I Dream To…be a Photographer like Jody Domingue

Jody Dominique

This is me!

My name is Martha Villeda and I dream to work as a photographer like Jody Domingue.  I was inspired to want to work as a photographer because it’s a creative job and I kind of like traveling.  I really like that you get to work with a variety of people.

My mentor Jody told me she was first inspired to work as a photographer when she got her first camera when she was 13.  Later on when she went to the Brooks Institute of Photography she had an assignment to photograph a musician in the studio, which also inspired her to pursue a career in rock-and-roll photography.  She has encouraged me to aim high for my goals , to not give up, to be creative, to not be shy and give it all my best.

Jody Dominique

Jody Dominique

When and where did it all start, what inspired you to become a photographer?

I got my first camera when I was 13.  I took it everywhere with me and it became an avid hobby and passion throughout high school.   I studied under a well known portrait artist named Gayletta Simmons and later moved on to college at Brooks Institute of Photography.  I didn’t know not a single person when i moved so finding subjects to photograph in the begining was very hard.  One of my first assignments was to photograph a musician in the studio, so I did.  That photo would later inspire me to pursue a career in rock and roll photography and is what really brought me to Los Angeles.

Jody Dominique

Jody Dominique

Do you like traveling?  Where?

I love going to new places within the states. Texas and Louisiana are my favorite places to visit for family and food.  I’m a big beach bum during the summer so anywhere   near the ocean is where you can find me on a sunny Sunday.  If I could travel the world I would but these days its to expensive.

Jody Dominique

Jody Dominique

Jody Dominique

Jody Dominique

What do you like the most about being a photographer? Why?

I love seeing how a single photograph can transform a persons perspective.  Being able to see how others view the world is intriguing to me.

Jody Dominique

Jody Dominique

WHat are some of the struggles to getting to where you are right now?

I had to knock on many doors and even when people didn’t believe in me, I kept on moving forward.  You have to be persistant in your goals.  It’s all about the right time at the right place.  I plugged along as much as I could so when the right opportunity came I was already ready.  I learn from my mistakes and try not to repeat them.  I surrounded myself with positive people who also have a passion for a creative career and stayed away from all the things that could have drug me down.  And last I kept the faith.

Jody Dominique

Jody Dominique

What is some advice you would give a high schooler like me if I want to be a photographer?

Surround yourself with people who you can learn from.   Put one foot in front of the other and take baby steps to achieving your goals.  Be a leader among your peers and create bridges with new people.  Having a great personality is so important for being a photographer.  Use photography as a way to express yourself and share it with your friends and family.

Leave a Reply

