I Dream To…be a Psychologist like Dr. Lindsey Heller

This is me!

This is me!

My name is Angelica Waner and I dream to work as a psychologist like Dr. Lindsay Heller.  I was inspired to want to work as a psychologist because I want to be able to help people not matter what.

My mentor, Lindsay Heller, told me she was first inspired to work as a psychologist because she wanted to be a doctor.  She also liked to read a lot and had interest in human behavior.  Most importantly, she liked helping people.  She has encouraged me to work hard to get what I want.

Dr. Lindsay Heller

Dr. Lindsay Heller

When you were my age did you know what you wanted to be?
Well, I kind of thought about it at the back of my head. I wasn’t like “Oh yes! This is what I want to be.” I wanted to be more of a medical doctor. I didn’t really know but I was sort of sure.

What made you choose this career?
I love helping people. I like a the mix of being intellectual, reading a lot of books, knowing a lot of things, and talking to a lot of people. I think human behavior is very interesting. Each individual is so different. I like learning about families since everyone comes from one. Even if I see just one individual we are talking about their families, where they come from, and their culture.

Dr. Lindsay Heller

Dr. Lindsay Heller

If you could give any piece of advice what would it be and why?

I really believe in school, education and being smart.  It’s really important.  It can get you to whatever you want.  Once you have a degree it’s like your backstage pass, you get to see places and do things you may not have otherwise been able to do. 

Dr. Lindsay Heller

Dr. Lindsay Heller

Dr. Lindsay Heller

Dr. Lindsay Heller

What is a typical day for you?

In my private practice I do a lot of work at home.  I do some writing, go to pilates class, come back and work in my office from about 1-2 to 6-7 in the afternoon.  I see patients for 50 min sessions.

What do you think you need to have to be a psychologist?

You need to have perseverance.  You have to take everything step by step, you need to be sympathetic and be understanding of peoples’ problems.  It is important to be open to hearing about different countries and different behaviors.  You also need to continue through high school, college and graduate school.

What’s the least and most amount of money someone earns in this field?

I think the average is about 80 thousand a year.  But it depends if you work in a non-profit organization, then you may not get paid a lot.  Or you might work a private practice where you might earn $16.00-$200.00 an hour depending on experience and what you have to offer.

Dr. Lindsay Heller

Dr. Lindsay Heller

14 responses to “I Dream To…be a Psychologist like Dr. Lindsey Heller

  1. Great job Angelica! I can see the passion in your writing and I know that with hard work and determination you will achieve your dreams!

  2. Chandi Chapman, Psy.D.

    Angelica, you did a wonderful job of listening to Dr. Heller – listening carefully is one of the most important things that a psycholigist does every day. Best of luck in pursuing your dreams!

  3. Keep going for it, Angelica! You are on your way. What a terrific blog! Take the inspiration you feel, keep it close to your heart, and make it a part of your soul.

  4. Great job Angelica! You did such a fantastic job with your interview and photography! Hope to see you soon! Stay passionate!
    Lindsay (Dr. Heller!)

  5. What a great blog on one of my most favorite people in the world. Lindsay is truly a fabulous doctor but also a great friend.

    Angelica, with Lindsay as your mentor, you are on to a wonderful and successful career choice.

    Best wishes.
    Ingrid

  6. You sound so passionate! I’mso sure you’ll be a huge success. The field of psychology needs people like you. Good luck!

  7. Great Story! Always inspiring to see Inspiration in Action!

  8. What a wonderful interview. Isn’t it interesting that you can learn so much about a person simply by asking them questions…kind of like a psychologist. Good luck achieving your goals. I know that if you keep up with your schoolwork, you can be anything you want to be,

  9. Laura Robertson

    Angelica– You asked good questions and presented a thorough profile of Dr. Heller. I like the way you added photographs to highlight the interview. Your attention to detail and curiosity will be great assets when you become a psychologist. Good luck!

  10. Hi Angelica,

    You asked really wonderful and thoughtful questions! That is a great skill to have and very necessary for a psychologist.

    :-)Jenna

  11. Great interview, Angelica. Good luck with your goals!

  12. Hi Angelica,

    Great job on this article! If you stay focused on your dreams, they will take you wherever you want to go.

    Good luck!
    Jennifer

  13. Amanda O'brien

    What a great interview! And your photos are really impressive!

Leave a Reply

