“I Dream to” … work as a Photographer like Maya Myers

me, Mary Rivera

me, Mary Rivera

My name is Mary Rivera and “I Dream to” … work as a Photographer like Maya Myers. I was inspired to work as a photographer because I want to capture moments to make them immortal.  I want to open minds and spark thoughts.  I want to capture moments so beautifully and  perfectly to show others what my mind holds in its clutches.  My mentor, Maya Myers, told me she was first inspired to work as a photographer because her grandfather was a photographer and she was fascinated.  She has encouraged me to use my knowledge of photography to bring awareness of problems in a community – or even a country – in a way that can benefit them.  She has also encouraged me to set goals for myself that will aid me on my journey to a career in photography.

Photographer Maya Myers shows me her flash and camera body.

Photographer Maya Myers shows me her flash and camera body.

Q1: Who/what inspired you to become a photographer?

A1: I’ve always watched people, interactions fascinate me and my grandfather was a photographer so I was introduced to the medium at a young age. I think photography just came as a natural answer to me, and many teachers and photographers I admire serve and served as inspiration.

Q2: What kind of pictures do you most enjoy shooting?

A2: I most enjoy photographing people in their environment.

she uses Canon

Maya's gear: she uses Canon

Q3: Since you are a photographer, are you photogenic?

A3: I have been told I am photogenic but I’d be lying if I said I was comfortable in front of the camera. I’d much rather be behind the lens.

Maya Myers by window light

Maya Myers by window light

Q4: Have you taken pictures of celebrities?

A4: Living in Los Angeles makes it pretty easy to end up with photographs of celebrities, especially if you photograph events as I do. It doesn’t hurt the portfolio to have them!

Wedding book cover samples and Maya's camera

Wedding book cover samples and Maya's camera

Q5: Who in this world do you most want to take a picture of?

A5: Barack Obama

Mary: Thank you !

Maya: You’re welcome !

Amy Tierney.

Mentor and Photographer, Maya Myers, with student Mary Rivera. Photo By: Amy Tierney.

One response to ““I Dream to” … work as a Photographer like Maya Myers

  1. Very inspirational interview. I’d love to see some portfolio examples or a link to the poerfolio. Photography is a tough business to carve out a living from. Always glad to read success stories.

Leave a Reply

