I Dream to … work as a Trend Forecaster like Rebecca McQuigg

portrait of Me, Sandy Saravia

portrait of Me, Sandy Saravia

My name is Sandy Saravia and I Dream to … work as a Trend Forecaster like Rebecca McQuigg. I was inspired to want to work as a trend forecaster because I have always loved fashion.  I want to get a job doing something I love.  I would also have fun and never get bored of my job.  My mentor, Rebecca McQuigg, told me she was inspired to work as a trend forecaster ever since she received a B.A. in Journalism.  She has always been interested in people and pop culture.  She has encouraged me to get an internship at a media company in order to get the kind of job that I want.  She also encouraged me to be persistent and work hard for what I want.

Here is my interview with her …

Rebecca McQuigg, portrait by Sandy Saravia.

Rebecca McQuigg, portrait by Sandy Saravia.

Q: Is it difficult to find a job as a trend forecaster?
A: It’s not particularly easy but all things are possible through persistence and hard work.

Q: How long does it take to find a job at a big company like People or something like that?
A: Finding your dream job can be hard work and can take a while.  If you think that you’d like to work for a major media company (like PEOPLE magazine) you should take classes in high school and college that will help you garner experience and knowledge in that area. You should also look into getting an internship at a media company or at the very least, talk to some people who work at one to get a better idea about what goes on there.

Q: Where did you go to school?
A: I went to Ohio State University. It was a wonderful experience.

Q: What other careers did you have in mind before you became a trend forecaster?
A: I was studying journalism in college.

Rebecca McQuigg with her portable flash drive.

Rebecca McQuigg with her portable flash drive.

ss-003

Q: What inspired you to become a trend forecaster?
A: I have a B.A. in Journalism and have always been interested in people and pop culture.  At the most basic level, I like finding and analyzing information and sharing/disucssing my findings with other people.  I also enjoy reseaching and discovering new trends and writing about them so that others can enjoy and utilize the information.

Q: What specific company or magazine do you work for?
A: I work for the Intelligence Group–a trend forcasting, market research and consulting company that specializes in consumer insights and pop culture trends.

ss-006ss-005

Q: How many hours do you work a week?
A: A lot! [laughs]  On an average day, I get into the office btw 9 and 9:30 AM and leave around 7:00/7:30 PM.  But depending on the project, I sometimes work much later than that (on weekdays) and will even work over the weekend.  But I love my job so I don’t mind putting in the extra hours when needed.

Amy Tierney.

Student Sandy Saravia photographs mentor, Trend Forecaster Rebecca McQuigg. Photograph by: Amy Tierney.

 

One response to “I Dream to … work as a Trend Forecaster like Rebecca McQuigg

  1. great job Sandy ; )

Leave a Reply

