I Dream to… work as a Veterinarian like Annette LePere

Me, Leslie Guzman and Vet Annette LePere

Me, Leslie Guzman and Vet Annette LePere

My name is Leslie Guzman and I Dream to … work as a Veterinarian like Annette LePere. I was inspired to want to work as a veterinarian because, when I was 10 years old, my dad and I went to the park and found a hurt kitten.  It seemed as if the kitten was bitten, so my dad and I decided to raise him.  We named him Butterfly and although Butterfly ran away, I was proud to know that I raised him and helped him get better.  Annette has encouraged me to try hard, never give up, and reach for my goals.

Dr. Annette Le Pere and a possible patient

Dr. Annette Le Pere and a possible patient

Q: When did you start getting involved in this career?

A: I volunteered at the LA Zoo in high school and Audubon Zoo in college. I also worked at different vet clinics in college.

Q: Where did you go for school?

A: SPHS (South Pasadena High School) ’94,  Tulane University undergrad ’98, and University of Pennsylvania school of Vet Med 2002.

Q: Who helped you through these steps?

A: Parents encouraged me to volunteer.  I also helped myself.

Dr. LePere with an X-ray.

Dr. LePere with an X-ray.

Some love from Dr. LePere.

Some love from Dr. LePere.

Dr. Le Pere making sure this gal's okay.

Dr. Le Pere making sure this gal's okay.

Q: Why did you choose to be this? What inspired you?
A: I wanted to do this since the age of 10-11.  My inspiration: Love for animals, being able to interact with people and talking to the animals’ owners.

Q: What was the first animal and last animal you helped out?
A: First – My own cat; a stray kitten named Cody, who was dropped off in front of the clinic.  Last was a ten year old Sheppard named Timber who had a painful back, was very weak.  I took x-rays of him and put him on medications.

lg-004

Q: How did you manage your time?
A: I had to be very organized and follow a schedule.

Q: What was your hardest accomplishment?
A: Graduating from vet school was my most difficult accomplishment.

Student Leslie Guzman photographs her mentor, Veterinarian Annette LePere.

Student Leslie Guzman photographs her mentor, Veterinarian Annette LePere. Photograph by: Amy Tierney.

Leave a Reply

