“I Dream to” … work as an Entrepreneur like Jane Wurwand

me, Kalen Isreal

me, Kalen Isreal

My name is Kalen Isreal and “I Dream to” … work as an Entrepreneur like Jane Wurwand, CEO of Dermalogica.

Here is my interview with her:

Jane Wurwand with Dermalogica marketing products.

Jane Wurwand with Dermalogica marketing products.

 

Q: What was your history from the age of 13?

A: When I was young, I always wanted to work, and at the time no one would let younger teens work. So I became a special intern on Saturdays at a hair salon.  In the salon I worked as a cleaning girl and then a shampoo assistant.

Q: What inspired you to do this work?

A: I liked to work with people in the salon and I instantly knew I wanted to be in the beauty industry.

Jane Wurwand, CEO of Dermalogica

Jane Wurwand, CEO of Dermalogica

Q: Did you ever get discouraged and want to do something else?

A: You always wonder if what you’re doing is worth it, but I had someone to keep me focused on my goals. Always stay focused!!!

Tea is Jane's favorite drink.

Tea is Jane's favorite drink.

Q: What’s your dream?

A: I want young women to know that my industry is not all about how academically smart you are, it’s about being smart by being driven and talented. You will succeed if you work hard and do your part. Young women in America need to know it’s not all about going to college. We have to give people other opportunities, and 98% of all professional skin therapists are women. It is a great industry to be a part of. I would love to be on Oprah and tell that story!

Jane has come a long way.

Jane has come a long way.

Q: What is the next step in your business?

A: Our next step is a teen skin care line called ‘Clean Start’ that will be launched in 2009. We used teens in all our decisions and planning and even an Inner City Film Makers Group of LA teens to record the DVD’s and promotional pieces.

Amy Tierney.

Student Kalen Isreal interviews mentor, Jane Wurwand, the CEO of Dermalogica skin care company. Photo By: Amy Tierney.

Leave a Reply

