I Dream To…work as a Music Manager like Kasaan Steigen

me, Ruth Galaviz

me, Ruth Galaviz

 

 

My name is Ruth Galaviz and “I Dream to” … work as a music manager like Kasaan Steigen. I was inspired to want to work as a music manager because I feel that I have no musical talaent but I still want to be involved in the music industry in some way. I was first inspired to be involved in music because I really like music and my family is very musically talented. My mentor Kasaan told me she was inspired because she always loved music and performance so she wanted to be involved in creating art that would entertain people but also made a change in their lives. She has encouraged me to pursue my goal and to try and be well rounded because my other talents may come in handy in the future.

Q1 How long have you been working with your company?

A: I started my company in 2002, so a little over six years.

Q2 Did you always want to work in the music industry?

A: I always wanted to work in the entertainment industry, but not necessarily just music. I was always interested in dance, music and theater, since I was five years old.

Kasaan Steigen, Music Manager

Kasaan Steigen, Music Manager

Q3 What were your first jobs when you got out of school?

A: I was an aerobics instructor, and I worked as a waitress in restaurants. I got my first music industry job after college, where I was an administrative assistant at a small music publishing company.

Q4 How much time you dedicate to your job?

A: I work any hours necessary – my job does not have any “regular” work hours. A lot of things happen very early in the morning, like phone calls to companies in Europe, and things also happen very late at night, like going to see shows or concerts. I dedicate about 10 hours per day to my job, and I often work on the weekends a little, too. But my work is usually very fun, so it is not bad to be working a lot of the time!

rg-002

Q5: What inspired you to want to work in the music industry?

I have always loved music and performance for as long as I can remember. I wanted to work in an industry where I could be involved in creating art that would entertain people but also make a change in their lives.

me, Ruth: Thank you !

Kasaan: You’re welcome !

rg-005

Kasaan shows her Billboard magazine research tool.

Kasaan shows her Billboard magazine research tool.

Amy Tierney.

Student Ruth Galaviz photographs Music Manager Kasaan Steigen. Photo By: Amy Tierney.

One response to “I Dream To…work as a Music Manager like Kasaan Steigen

  1. Ruth Galaviz

    My blog rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

