I Dream To…be a Director/Producer like Amy Wruble

This is me!

This is me!

My name is Rebecca Garcia and I dream to work as a director/producer like Amy Wruble.

Amy Wruble

Amy Wruble

What made you want to be a producer?
My first job after college was working for an advertising agency that represented clients in television.  I developed a passion for the television industry and looked for opportunities that would enable me to use both my creative and managerial sides.

When you were my age, did you know what you wanted your career to be?
I had no idea, but I always loved reading and writing.  I became an English major in college and learned about good storytelling, which is important in my career.

Amy Wruble

Amy Wruble

Amy Wruble

Amy Wruble

Who influenced you the most? Why?
My parents have influenced me the most. They both succeeded in taking on new careers while I was growing up and they showed me that anything is possible.

Was it hard to reach your position? What were the steps you took to get there?
The entertainment business can be tough to crack.  You have to work long hours and keep a good attitude.  Even when you’re doing grunt work, there are opportunities for learning.   When it was my job to make copies, I’d always read whatever I was Xeroxing.   Over the years, I tried to take jobs that would stretch my knowledge and experience.  When I finally got my break as an executive producer, it was because I’d done practically every job on the way up the ladder.
Amy Wruble

Amy Wruble

Leave a Reply

