I Dream To…work at a Non Profit like Shannon Mayock

This is me!

This is me!

My name is Laura Guzman and “I Dream To”…work at a Non Profit like Shannon Mayock.

Why did you want to work for the Arnolds After School All-Stars?  What does it take to be in that program?

Well, I have been on as the Director of Marketing and Communications for the organization for over a year now.  Before coming on-board with the All-Stars, I was the National Director of PR for a large, national, corporate-type firm.  I wanted a professional change; a life change.  At the end of the day, I wanted to use my skills for the betterment of people that needed help.

I have a lot of autonomy in my position, which is something that I enjoy very much! —I am essentially left to format & execute strategic marketing plans, PR campaigns and corporate partnerships…working to promote our programs which help disadvantaged youth.  I also work in increasing the scope and strength of our organization with co-branding efforts.  It takes hard work and commitment.  So for me, it takes the knowledge & ability to work creatively and strategically own my own…making sure that I deliver results!

Shannon Mayock

Shannon Mayock

Do you have a role – model in your life?  Who is it and why?
My father has been a tremendous role model in my life.  He is a brilliant man—very smart, hardworking, kind and compassionate.  I know that I am blessed to have been given a Father that has worked so hard to give me opportunities in life.  So many of my life decisions have been made because as an adult, I want to emulate him.

Shannon Mayock

Shannon Mayock

Shannon Mayock

Shannon Mayock

What is your favorite part about helping the kids after school?

Being on the business side of things, I do not work with the kids hands-on on a daily basis.  But I feel good knowing that at the end of a long day…my hard work has gone towards bettering their future.

Shannon Mayock

Shannon Mayock

One response to “I Dream To…work at a Non Profit like Shannon Mayock

  1. Shannon Mayock

    Best of luck to Laura!! Such a sweet, kind, smart young lady. The future for her, is very bright!! Glad that we got the chance to work together on this fun day.

Leave a Reply

