I Dream To Be… A Scientist Like Jennifer Gordon.

This is me(:

My name is Ivanna Lizano. I dream to be a Crime Scene Investigator or a Marine Biologist. I met a woman in science named Jennifer Gordon. She is a research scientist for UCLA. She is currently researching the STD Trichomonas Vaginalis. I think it is so important that she works in this because people need to be more aware about STDS to protect themselves. She was inspired to work in medicine because a man came came to her high school, gave a lecture, and talked about a book called The Hot Zone. She inspired me to work towards my dream job, no matter what people say or how much I would make. If that is my dream, I can reach it; there are no obstacles I cannot get over.

Jennifer is getting her materials ready.

Q: What inspired you to work in science?

A: When I heard a lecture about the body vs. the disease, it was so fascinating to me that both the body and the disease have a defense and an offense. It’s like a war, and your body works to fight off the disease. It’s interesting.

Some of her films...

Q: How does your job work? What do you do?

A: Each lab has a specific theme and a specific question. My lab works on the STD Trichomonas Vaginalis, and we find out all about the disease, how it works, what it affects, everything.

I've been working in the lab all the live long day...

Aah! Mad Scientist!

Q: What do you suggest for a good summer program?

A: You should look into MBI, Wood’s Hole Marine Biological Institute. They have a great summer program!

One response to “I Dream To Be… A Scientist Like Jennifer Gordon.

  1. Jennifer Gordon

    Ivanna,
    I am so proud of you! With your spunk and your determination, you can achieve anything you put your mind to! Dreams and Drive, the 2 most important accessories of any successful woman! It was an honor to get to meet you and talk with a future scientist. : ) I can’t wait to see all the things you will achieve in the future!

    -Jenny

Leave a Reply

